Ok. Yes. I’m bad at this. And other things.

I’ve been away for a long, long time. Who knew I was such a lazy piece of shit?

And you know what? I’m not sorry.

Because I don’t have to be. And because life has been a bit crazy.

But I am mad at myself. I need to write more. I want to write more. Pithy headlines, TV/radio scripts and “romanticizing” the food is what I do for my job. And I love it. It’s what I spent 6 years of college building towards. But I need to remind myself the joy of writing whatever the hell I want. Because it is rejuvenating. And because writing what you are told to write and being critiqued on it every day… Well, it can be a bit exhausting. But still. I love it. Exhausting though.

It reminds me of my relationship with running. I ran cross country and track in high school. My coach was a real ball-buster. Good guy, but never really let the fun in the sport see the light. I mean, I still enjoyed the competition, but doing it someone else’s way for so long ended up almost ruining it for me. Because I never just ran on my own to have fun. I’m finally getting back to being able to enjoy a nice run. Granted my dog helps with that. Because that face when I put my running shoes on… damn it’s cute. But yeah. I can’t let that happen with writing. And my dog can’t help with that, obviously.

So here I am. Part writing a blog post because it’s been forever. Part personally reminding myself the joy and release of pounding the keyboard on your own terms. And it feels good.

See you soon. (Hopefully)

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Get it together

Leave a Reply

